Beginnings…

Footpath: A winding path for people to walk along, esp. one in the countryside. Footpaths are usually just tracks, and are rarely surfaced or lit, often stony or sandy.
synonyms: pathway – path –  trail –  track 

So why “a footpath to France”?  My adult life, like many adult lives, started off on a road.  A road of the usual plans and dreams. I stayed on my “road” for quite a number of years and discovered, lurking along the smooth moments of living, a number of potholes, bumps and cracks.  I’m sure there were signs along the way,some might even have been stolen or missing, some where probably there with bells, whistles and flashing lights – either way – I didn’t see them.  I bruised myself on the bumps, landed in a few potholes and tripped over the cracks.  After a few traumatic experiences, dealing with dead people, witnessing a murder and being stalked by an obsessive nutter I came to a chasm in my road and fell off the edge.


Well, to cut a long story short, I crawled out, decided the light at the end of the tunnel wasn’t an on coming train after all, married my soul mate and started again.  My husband always tells me that life is about the journey, not the destination.  We wanted our journey together to be more than a predictable road, more than 9 to 5, more than wallpaper and Wetherlys, more than the latest model.  We wanted to taste life.  We got off the usual road and opted for an unpredictable footpath.


I’m an artist with an overly busy and slightly ditsy brain, he’s a strong leader with a huge heart.  We both love cooking, we both love the country and we both fell in love with France. And that’s where we’re heading in about 10 weeks time –  a year in the Bretagne countryside, taking our dogs with us.  More about how on earth we got to do that next time.


À la prochaine

M

About M

I am at heart and artist...which translates into other areas apart from the pen, paintbrush and paper. I love cooking, I love gardening and I love nature. leaving South Africa to come to France was difficult, but a challenge and together with my husband and two furry friends, I manage to do all that I love and more while I walk the 'Footpath to France'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

