the Revenge of the "Stuff"

So the time has flown in a daze of  visits to the vet, visits to the French Embassy, and now we just have one more visit to do – a final check up for Tass and Ted and paperwork from the State Vet and then they’re set to go.  Things suddenly rush up on you..one minute you’re saying “Oh we leave next month”..and it’s said very breezily, pretty relaxed – yup – we’re “cool”.  And the next minute its tomorrow and no, we’re not cool anymore and who said we were EVER “breezy”!
The couple who are renting our house popped in.  They really are so very sweet …she says if we need a place to stay – we can sleep in their spare room…which is our spare room…which is altogether weird!  They even want us to come round and have supper with them after they’ve moved in – even more weird…so all together – life has taken on this sort of weird panic-like trance and I have no idea whether I’m Arthur or Martha – I guess I should look in the mirror to check – oh yes – Martha it is!
And then came the day that we had to pack up all our clothes, my art stuff and bits and pieces that would be taken via ship to France before us..just 1.5 cubic meters.  Sounds small, but actually, you can fit quite a lot in that space and we single handedly helped shoot the stock price of Tevo Vacuum Pack Bags through the roof.  Marvelous things – a king size duvet can actually fit into a pillow case when you’re finished..would be super if my body worked on the same principle – stick the vacuum cleaner to a small valve – similar to a belly button..turn vacuum cleaner on…and become a smaller size (or 2 ) in a matter of seconds! 
So…all going fine until it comes to the suitcase…the dreaded suitcase that we will need to live out of for the next 6 weeks. How do you figure out that you need clothes for Cape Town – which has decided that oh – false alarm, that day you felt last week wasn’t really summer – you’re back into winter hahahaa – Fooled You!!  Then you have to pack for KZN which is sort of warm until the wind blows or the evening comes, or it rains a bit ..then you have to accommodate the fact that when you land in France – you will land straight in to a freezing winter that not even CT has seen with a minimum of 2 and a max of 8!
My brain is confused, my suitcase is confused, my wardrobe is looking smug and laughing behind it’s doors and I feel like smacking my clothes..so yup – having fun!!
Have decided to leave all things and have a Campari.  Voila!
A la prochaine
M
x
About M

I am at heart and artist...which spills over into other areas apart from the pastels, pencils, paintbrush and paper. I love cooking, I love gardening and I love nature. Leaving South Africa to come to France was difficult, but an adventurous challenge and together with my husband and two furry friends, I manage to do all that I love and more while I walk the 'Footpath to France'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

