just three more sleeps….

It’s been nearly two weeks of living out of a suitcase…in between that time, we had to unpack it all and repack for a stay in KwaZulu Natal with my sister and her family.  We condensed into one suitcase only to discover that each day consisted of cold, windy, rainy and hot and the weather could change in  a moment. Thank goodness for long lanky teenage nieces who have sweaters that fit.

Tass (after Tassenberg wine) and Ted Bear

In the meantime, we had to rely on the kindness of friends to take Tass and Ted to the local vet for their “five to seven day’s before you fly” visit.  After being given the “once over”, dewormed and deflea’d they were pronounced fit to travel, paperwork completed and then those papers had to be taken out to Stellenbosch to be stamped by the State Vet.  Thank goodness for wine farms near by which could, if need be, make the trip worthwhile.

And then those papers together with these papers along with that paper etc etc all had to be faxed to the wonderful (and very long-suffering and patient) lady at PetAir and finally, Tass and Ted could have their tickets bought on the same flights as us.  Needless to say, I’m not too sure who gets the better deal at this point and with a bit of thought, I’ve come to the conclusion that they do.  Their cage has to be high enough for them to stand up without a hair touching the roof…wide wnough to turn round comfortably…and long enough to sleep in a natural position.  Their room in the hold is heated to 20 C, dimly lit and quiet with no disturbances except for the gently hum of the engines.  Sounds good? When I stand up, I bump my head on the light and little air nozzle thing..then I have to climb over all sorts of laps and knees to go somewhere, then squeeze myself between the drinks trolley and a determined air hostess.  I then have to conquer the obstacle course once more only to try to sleep bent like a pretzel with the back of the front person’s chair on my lap. Yes..I feel that the mutts get the better end of the deal.  I wonder how much it is for a human to fly “Mutt Class”.

And on that note…the panic sets in just a fraction more..along with the vague bells of excitement which I feel sure will ring louder once we’re on our way.

A la Prochaine

M

About M

I am at heart and artist...which spills over into other areas apart from the pastels, pencils, paintbrush and paper. I love cooking, I love gardening and I love nature. Leaving South Africa to come to France was difficult, but an adventurous challenge and together with my husband and two furry friends, I manage to do all that I love and more while I walk the 'Footpath to France'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to just three more sleeps….

  1. Karin Duncker says:

    Ah, soo exciting, how I envy you this great adventure. Can’t wait to read you next report. Go well!

    Like

  2. Caro Nel says:

    Morag, I am so envious. You are going to have such a fantastic time. Always love your posts and look forward to reading each episode. Have a ball !!! Caro

    Like

Leave a Reply

