shopping!

Lisa and Harry..the couple who invited us to stay here as ‘caretakers’ of their property have told us that we can go and buy anything we need to make ourselves comfy.  They’ve pointed us in the direction of the shop they would prefer us to buy from and told us to send them the bill so for the past two days, I’ve been looking at the website and seeing what’s available to create a real home of this dear little cottage, both for us now..and for anyone who stays here in the future.  We don’t want to go out and go crazy so I’ve made a list ( a short one !) and we’ll send it off for approval first.

In the meantime, we decided to go into Dinan – a small town I’ve been longing to visit, and buy a few needed things including a Garmin.  Of course finding Dinan without a Garmin was an interesting exercise but it proved to be easier than we thought and things are amazingly well signposted.  We were looking for a shop called E’Leclerc which is like a very smart hypermarket with good prices and a card system like Pick n’ Pay Smart Shopper.  Within about 20 minutes and only one u-turn in “Anabel” the Jeep – I kid you not – it’s on the back of her and I think it’s the model or something!

Needless to say..my eyes were on stalks the entire time.  I’ve never seen such a variety of stuff in my life in one giant shop…and all in French!  Eventually I worked out that the bottle I was looking at was fabric softener and not washing powder, the dog food was made for Dogs with Allergy skin problems (just what Tass needs) and that some of the seafood caught just 10 km away was really moving across the ice!

And at the checkout, the very sweet lady told me in rapid french that I could get a “card” over there at the desk, something which totally astounded me was that I could actually understand her.  The blonde brain is waking up!
And then I saw them…Ted’s Nemesis..the hatred of his life….bicycles!!  And that was just what we had been looking for.  So out we went with a among other things, a new shoppers card, just over a kilogram of huge prawns that cost eight euros and two mountain bikes with sturdy tread tyres, eighteen gears and a front light at the great price of eighty euros each.  Now how cool is that!  Ted nearly had a fit when we wheeled them to the car where he and Tass had been peacefully sleeping and when we loaded them into the car, I’m sure his brain must have gone into  spasm! Ha, wait till I pop him into the front basket!!

Then we went into the center of Dinan, straight out of a children’s story

Streets of Fairy tale Dinan

book to gawk some more and have a cup of coffee while the smart-looking french strolled past oblivious to the fact that their surroundings were SO beautiful.  They did stop often to speak to Tass and Ted though, which automatically led to them chatting to us and out came the favourite expression of mine:

“Bonjour Madam, je ne parlais pas bien frances…dejolais.  Merci, les chien tres bonne Oui!!  A’ revoir Madam” (the spelling is terrible – but fortunately they couldn’t see that..they seemed to understand that sorry, I couldn’t speak french very well and yes, thank you, the dogs are very nice. ) By the time we found our way home – thanks to Miss MoneyPenny..our new very British Garmin, my head was spinning and every foreign language I had ever learned was combining into one long garbled sentence….a mixture of French, Zulu and a smattering of Afrikaans for good measure!  Je treis fatigue….

Bon nuit, goeie naand, lala gahle and excuse the spelling

Sleep tight

M
x

About M

I am at heart and artist...which spills over into other areas apart from the pastels, pencils, paintbrush and paper. I love cooking, I love gardening and I love nature. Leaving South Africa to come to France was difficult, but an adventurous challenge and together with my husband and two furry friends, I manage to do all that I love and more while I walk the 'Footpath to France'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

