Story book Lights

Weather’s a bit like SA Cape Town weather with LOTS of on and off rain, apparently more that usual.  Our french vocabulary is growing every day, it’s amazing how if you just try, people are so friendly and so very happy to help and encourage you on.  The difficulty I now face is, now that I have more vocab, I still have no idea how to string it all together to make a proper sentence that hasn’t already been set out for me in a phrase book.  Words change – are they male or female..are you doing them? Have you done them? Is it a male doing them? And you never put the adjective before the noun…it’s always after, so there are no green plants, but there are plenty of plants green so I guess if I follow that rule, I am not a confused person, but rather a person confused..either way it amounts to the same person – a confused me.  BUT, I have this saying that I have kept close to my heart for many years because it has spoken for me on so many occasions   Once again, it speaks for me now,

“I am sorry I have not been able to answer your question.  Your question has made me feel more confused than ever…but I feel confused on a higher level and about more important things.”

We took ourselves off to the stunning town of Dinan (pronounced Dee na – the “na” part sounding like the A in Cat) to see the lights. It had been raining earlier in the day but it had cleared and people were out and about enjoying the scenery and soaking up the atmosphere.  Now I have to just say here that I have always loved children’s books and my burning ambition when I left school was to illustrate them.  Problem was, that was a world without internet and the only place to train for this amazing career (and yes you do have to train to fully qualify) was in the UK and my mother refused to let me loose on such an unsuspecting country on my own.  Having established that fact, we got out of the car walked through an alley and into the old town.
Simply put, the scene that met me made me want to cry.  I have never seen a real life storybook and half expected Rapunzel to let down her hair any minute or for Walt Disney’s Pinocchio to come skipping down across the cobbles with Jiminy Cricket in tow.  It’s one of those little towns that you want to hug, from the old cobbled streets with their center gutters, to the skew buildings, the old lanterns, village square..even the people strolling arm in arm in fur lined boots and coats somehow looked in place.  We just stood there for a while because it all takes a while to sink in and then we walked down every road, looked in the shops, bought spices and goodies at the market and just reveled in it all.  We ended the evening with a “Galette” – a typical Breton light meal of a buckwheat pancake about a millimeter thin filled with whatever you fancy.  I had salmon and cream cheese and the husband had French spicy sausage, cheese and mushrooms.  All washed down with a Breton bitter beer.  When we walked out the door at 8.30, the streets were nearly empty and the village folk had moved from outdoors to indoors to sit in front of their fire places in total ignorance of just what an amazing place they live in.

We got all the paperwork yesterday to ensure our stuff comes safely across the channel and into France from the UK.  So I gather more clothes and all my art stuff is on the way at last.  The mutts have been very cozy in the bottom halves of their travelling boxes but I’m sure they’ll be ecstatic to have their soft beds

Harley Portrait

to roll around on.  In the meantime, I’ve been trying to get my head around working with a Wacom Touch Tablet.  Much to my delight (and amazement) I’ve been asked by Monkey Feet Illustrators in the UK to join their artists.  They’re quite a fussy bunch who only take on artists who they think will be able to offer their authors and publishers a range of artwork suitable for publishing.  So it’s practice, practice, practice on the high DPI tablet.  I’m sure most of you remember Harley – Tass and Ted’s friend that used to come and stay?  He was my first “Wacom Guinea Pig” (he’s actually a dog…not a real guinea pig!!).   So here he is here.

Otherwise -all is going ok – apart from a visit to the vet because Tass keeps running through the forests regardless of sticks and brambles and seemed to have poked herself in the eye.  She’s well on the mend and back to  “snorkeling” through the undergrowth.  Had a bit of a fright when I was sitting relaxed in the Vet’s waiting room and Ted (we had to bring him too) suddenly spotted the vet coming out of his surgery.  Ted took an instant dislike to him, charged across the room leash flying in gay abandon behind him.  He charged behind the reception desk and went after the Vet’s shoes.  Me?  Well I made a complete spectacle of  myself by giving chase, jacket flying behind me like some mad caped comic book hero and diving twice, unsuccessfully, for the leash.  Having finally caught him, we went into the surgery where he sat in the corner and growled and barked under his breath the entire time.  Dear Ted.  Bless him…some days I’d just love to throttle his furry little neck.  But he is greatly loved despite his SPCA baggage.

Hope you’re all safe and sound, back from trips and holidays and that you enjoyed every minute of whatever you did with family and friends.  I would love to see pictures of your different lives and happenings in SA…

Breathe in  in the attached story book pictures,

Bientot

M
x

About M

I am at heart and artist...which spills over into other areas apart from the pastels, pencils, paintbrush and paper. I love cooking, I love gardening and I love nature. Leaving South Africa to come to France was difficult, but an adventurous challenge and together with my husband and two furry friends, I manage to do all that I love and more while I walk the 'Footpath to France'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Story book Lights

  1. Liza says:

    Love getting your posts…. Feels like I am a part of your adventure! Lots of love xxx

    Like

    • M says:

      SO great to hear from you Liza!! Glad you’re enjoying the slight chaos here in France! Please send an email and teel us how you all oare and how you’re getting on..would love to hear all the Conmead news….lots of love and hugs xx

      Like

  2. Karin Duncker says:

    oh my you have captured Harley beautifully. What talent you have!

    Like

  3. M says:

    aah thanks Karin! Will be working on the human portraits next but doing it all on a PC is very different..still it’s a lot of fun. How was your hols? Did you have a great “family” time? Did you get to ski? Lots of love xx

    Like

  4. I loved the sound of Dinan….and believe it or not Rick has made galleys so I knew what you are talking about!! Lots of love and hugs xxx

    Like

  5. Beverley says:

    Enjoyed this story – hugs and kisses from Bev Michalos

    Like

Leave a Reply

