The Ups of Art shops and the downs of Spring….

Well, I think it’s safe to say that things are gearing up for Spring and warmer weather…I hope.  The first sign was a slight increase in the “dawn chorus”; the thrush became busier, the blue tits became hungrier and joy of joys, the moorhen found a mate and brought him to visit the seed that I scattered for her at the base of the seed table.  I felt sorry for her…

Daffs 1

she tried so hard to climb the tree where I had hung the suet and seed ball…but with her squat little body and slight webbed feet she looked very precarious wobbling on the thin branches.  So the “Dear One” made me a bird table with a platform, a couple of branches and two nails where the seed balls could be hung.  I always make a point of scattering some seed in the grass below the table so they can now dine in style instead of staggering up to the 10th floor of a spindly tree.  They come so often they’ve managed to build their own slipway and narrow path from the reeds to the table.

Another sign was the bravery of the daffodils.  On a frosty morning we took a walk and there they were – a sudden gold blaze in the emerald sea of grass.  One thing about daffs is the quizzical look they seem to have on their faces as they point their trumpet nose at you.  It’s not a look that says “Look at me – aren’t I beautiful, soft and fragrant” like the rose might say or the stretching serenity of a lily. No, the daffodil says “Good heavens, where am I?  And why the heck is it still so cold?  Am I crazy or what?”  But crazy or not, they are a welcome cheerful site that lifts the spirits.

And then there was the ominous sign..the dreaded pile of “fumier” or less politely “merde”  that sat steaming in each field.  Something at sometime would be done with it.  The crust that had developed on the top would be cracked open and the insides, along with it’s aroma would be set free.  Then one morning, we opened the front door and the smell was a solid mass that hit the senses with such speed and ferocity there was no time to prepare for it.  On a set date, the farmers had begun to muck spread. Now this is no simple thing.  A huge tractor-like machine picks up the pile and places it in a giant hopper.  A ginormous cork screw like thing turns and forces the fumier downwards where it is pulped to a fine something or another, forced into a pipe and sprayed in a fine mist all over the field.  It’s ingenious and incredibly effective.   The smell is gaggingly strong (but in a country lifestyle farm yard way that you can actually live with..sounds weird but there it is….) for about a day and is gone completely in about three….until they start on the next field.  But we’ve been told that there is a window period of about 10 days where it all happens and the ground is then ready for ploughing and planting.  All pretty cool really.

France is the home of Pastels.  I didn’t know this.  I’ve always been a fan of pastels, I love the huge range of colours (because you can’t mix them like you can paint, each colour comes in it’s own gradient tints of five or six steps from dark to light so there are at last 300 sticks available).  I love their velvety feel, I love the mess as you layer them on the surface and the way they end up on your hands, clothes, face, I’ve  even got used to the raised eyebrows when I turn to talk to the husband or answer the door.  But I shelved pastels for a while because they are only just becoming popular in SA.  Here, there is a Pastel Society Of France.  A range of pastels created by Degas are still made to his specific technique, Monet’s Garden host a yearly Pastel Exhibition and van Gogh’s work still decorates the covers of some pastel boxes.  The velour paper  – a combination of paper and velvet – which I battled so hard to find in SA that I resorted to the fabric that lines the inside of jewelry boxes – is freely available via on-line shopping but I was still battling to find an Art Shop.
Eventually, with the help of Google Translate, I wrote a letter to the factory in France that makes this most amazing paper called Clairfonteine Pastel Mat to ask where I could get it.  Armed with the response and Miss MoneyPenny the Garmin, we set off to Rennes (about 35 minutes away – the capital of Brittany)and there it was, the mecca of all art shops!  A huge warehouse ; I had arrived in art heaven.  A pastel workshop was happening in the corner, and every other paint and paper filled every space. Pastels in wooden boxes, pastel sets in tins, sets for landscapes, sets for portraits,  pastels sold singly…and THE paper… a soft suede like paper that I could have eaten on the spot.  Unfortunately I had left all my pastels in storage in SA and came only with wax colour pencils and water colours.  Fortunately a shopping spree was in order.

The Dear One was looking a little bor…no that might upset him…a little tired and in need of coffee so I stopped chatting to a wonderful lady who could speak English and said we should meet, chat “art” and practice french conversation.  When I arrived home, there was an email from her.  She had visited my website, chatted to the owner of  the chain of “Les Cite Des Artes” which are dotted all around cities in France and the owner had told her to tell me that as I was a “Professional Internationally sold Artist” she would give me 15% off anything I buy in any of her shops.  I wanted to laugh, who on earth was she talking about?  Me?  But either way, the French seem to hold anyone who can draw (even strange drawings like Picasso so there’s hope) in high esteem and as a country, they value artists and offer help and aid where possible.  I felt very small, very honoured and inspired to try harder.  I came home and started my first pastel in France.  Inspiration is everywhere and after I’ve practiced a bit on this amazing paper..I’ll try my first street scene…the cobbled night lit streets of Dinan.

On another note…To all that reading this blog, thank you.  I love hearing your comments but I would also love to hear YOUR news as well…you’re all very precious for following a “footpath to France”.

Hugs
M
x

About M

I am at heart and artist...which translates into other areas apart from the pen, paintbrush and paper. I love cooking, I love gardening and I love nature. leaving South Africa to come to France was difficult, but a challenge and together with my husband and two furry friends, I manage to do all that I love and more while I walk the 'Footpath to France'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Ups of Art shops and the downs of Spring….

  1. Karin Duncker says:

    And here I was so sure that at the end of your blog you’d post a photo of your work of art. Now that was a let-down :-). The weather here in the Cape is simply gorgeous, you will remember those late summer days (with that slight nip in the air) not a cloud in the sky where you ask yourself, what am I doing at home, sitting at the computer and working. We are off to the bush for 10 days with my folks, aunt and uncle and that hard work before and after. I still miss Nikki badly and keep asking myself when will this huge void be filled again. One thing is for sure, I’m an emotional coward and will NOT have another pet again. I’ve been travelling extensively in the last three months 3 overseas trips. Not too shabby especially when you’re accompanying journalists and the tourism bodies spoil you rotten. Enough said, work to do, lots of love and hugs to your four-legged darlings.

    Like

  2. Brian Harding says:

    Hi Moraig

    wonderful …… so wonderful to be in a place where art is truly valued !! it all sounds delightful and i hope you are as happy as you sound 🙂 i look forward to pics of the first masterpiece 🙂

    Love

    Brian

    Like

    • M says:

      Aah Brian! Thank you! Yup, I’m really happy here but it has it’s moments at very odd times when I suddenly miss friends and amily and all things familiar – coffee with Lyn and a long summer dinner with you all. Take big care of you and am really hoping to see you soon xx Love all round

      Like

  3. Brian Harding says:

    HI Moraig

    Do you get my replies if I reply to this address ?

    B

    ____________________
    Brian Harding
    CEO
    AIRBORNE CONSULTING

    [Description: An EOH Company – Small (2)]

    tel: +27 21 425 3430

    fax: +27 21 425 1803

    cell: +27 82 374 6196

    http://www.airborneconsulting.co.za

    The information in this message and/or attachments is intended only for the person or entity to which it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of, or taking of any action in reliance upon, this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited. If you received this in error, please contact the sender and delete the material from any system and destroy any copies.

    Like

  4. Lulu says:

    Hi Moogles, so good to read about the little Moorhen and a special meal for her – just the thing I would do to. The sight & description of daffodils makes me think of the poem Daffodils by William Wordsworth – so lovely! & so for country life……awesome xxx

    Like

  5. Tony Henfrey says:

    Mark and Moraig…how are you both? We continue to envy you the life style which you are enjoying. Here summer really does not really get into stride but today tem expected to be 31 and tomorrow 34 then it is forecast to cool down to 20 on Thursday for showers. The memorial invitation campaign is underway and Wendy and I worked from 8 until 1.30 and then crashed for 2 and a half hours…getting long in the tooth. We have had to replace the roof above lounge/dining room and in the process we have covered part of the patio so things are in a bit of a mess.

    After the meeting we go to the grand at Grainger Bay with Bo and Lisa et familia for a bun fight. Looking forward to that.

    Have fu

    Love from both Wendy and Tony

    Like

  6. Really enjoying the blog!!you make me feel like I am experiencing it too!!

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

Leave a Reply

