All sorts of happenings…

The Husband had a ‘code id his dose” and was feeling particularly miserable so I offered to go and do the weekly shop.  This grand gesture involved Anabel, parking and, after doing the shopping and unpacking it onto the conveyor belt at the teller, getting large canvas-type bags ready and wildly trying to keep up with the packing while the very efficient teller whizzes the items through at a rate of the Grand Prix.

After starting Anabel, I set off, stalled at the first intersection, waved apologies to the post van waiting patiently behind me, hiccuped down the road, found gears the even Anabel had never heard of and finally rolled into the “Super-U” parking lot to try and find a parking as far away from any other car, pole or  building as possible.  After circling the parking lot I decided there were non to be had and settled on one that had a free space next to it (at least that would be one less car to worry about.  I did a thirty-five point turn and parked Anabel with huge success.

The shopping went well (I love grocery shopping) and I worked myself into a good sweat keeping up with the teller.  With my trolley piled high I approached Anabel with trepidation.  I drew a bit of a crowd and quite a few smiles as I expertly manoevered tank-like Anabel backwards, then forwards…then backwards again, then back into the parking before finally making a fairly graceful exit.  On the way home, I mistook the clutch (which you have to push in REALLY hard) for the break (which I pushed REALLY hard), slid on locked tyres towards a beautifully made fence and slithered to a halt without hitting anything or sailing through the windscreen.  When I parked the car outside home, my nerves were rattling as much as Anabels body.  We made a good pair.
It was too early for whisky…I made tea.

A beautiful Spring day found us walking through the fields and into a large copse of trees to admire the carpet of daffodils that lay cheerfully all over the forest floor.  Absolutely stunning. Then as we explored a bit deeper, we discovered a well worn path leading to mounds of smooth sand surrounding a series of burrows.  Fox holes we thought but couldn’t be sure.  Then we heard more snow was on the way and sure enough….it snowed…and snowed….and snowed.  Meetings were cancelled, no cars in site, the main barrage across the estuary was closed to cars and for two days we stayed more or less “put”.  This morning we took a walk, clear blue sky, white world and surprisingly warm sun.  We went back to the fox holes because tracks in snow can tell you SO much.  And there they were…large paws, smaller paws and little paws.  A family or community of about 8 – 10 foxes.  They must have recently come home as the footprints were fresh, the long claws still outlines sharply in the deep snow.  The plan is to hide there one evening, tuck ourselves into the bushes and wait to see what comes out….but I think I need to buy a torch first….and maybe wait for slightly warmer weather.  But how amazing would that be?

Thinking of you all,

A la prochain and hugs

M
x

About M

I am at heart and artist...which translates into other areas apart from the pen, paintbrush and paper. I love cooking, I love gardening and I love nature. leaving South Africa to come to France was difficult, but a challenge and together with my husband and two furry friends, I manage to do all that I love and more while I walk the 'Footpath to France'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All sorts of happenings…

  1. Loraine Hardwick says:

    Thanks, I just love hearing about your escapades. Thought that little white one was a teddy bear! What a lovely photo of the two of you.

    Like

  2. M says:

    thanks SO much Loraine! That’s Ted, little rescue man from SA who has a hole in his spine poor guy…so no tail…I leave some hair when I cut him to give him some “dignity” haha. How are you all? xxxx

    Like

  3. Janine says:

    Bless! You are a brave soul girl and I am exceedingly proud of you mastering the 35 point turn – when I am all growed up…. So happy you are happy! Hugs and big love… Nini xxx PS have my own breakfast show am hosting on local community radio station – what fun!!! Who knew at age 50??? Tee hee!

    Like

  4. Karin Duncker says:

    roared with laughter! Mark my words you’ll become a pro driving the wagon around. Practice makes perfect. And don’t ever consider discontinuing your blog, I love it.

    Like

  5. M says:

    thank you SO much Karin…as you say…I’ll keep practicing…maybe I’ll get it down to 20 point turn one day! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

