An Ode To A Colombage Cottage in Normandy…

It starts with just a little hole
Within a wall or beam
You reach out to have a feel
Are things really as they seem?

You get the ladder to have a look
And inspect it with your hand
It crumbles leaving a bigger gap
And covering the floor with sand

Now as you peer with growing dread
To see what you have done
The hole is now much larger
You can see the shining sun!

Could it be wood rot,
could it be mould
Could it just be
That the building is old?

So starts the long road
Of restore and repair
A road of some good times
But mostly despair

With five steps moving forward
There’s ten taken back
Moods go from whistling
To moody and black

I’m tired and I’m cranky
My hair is in a mess
How my nails will ever be the same
Well that is anyone’s guess

Make up covers the blue circles
I’m bruised, my muscles ache
The body is tired, the mind is a wreck
Have we made a dreadful mistake?

We’ve gone through three sanders
Shares in band-aids now have soared
Dust covers everything
One can never really be bored

But there’s light at the end of the tunnel
And it’s not an oncoming train
It’s all coming together in leaps and in bounds
Despite all the worry and pain

There are new walls and new loo’s
New fireplace, and floor
And a sanded down staircase
That was ugly before

It’s going to be cute
And it’s going to be bright
We’re starting to breathe easier
everything’s going to be alright!

A la Prochaine
M
x

 

About M

I am at heart and artist...which spills over into other areas apart from the pastels, pencils, paintbrush and paper. I love cooking, I love gardening and I love nature. Leaving South Africa to come to France was difficult, but an adventurous challenge and together with my husband and two furry friends, I manage to do all that I love and more while I walk the 'Footpath to France'.
This entry was posted in Road to Normandy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Ode To A Colombage Cottage in Normandy…

  1. Annemarie says:

    A lot of work, but don’t despair, I am sure it will turn out beautiful – soon. Beautifully written.

    Like

  2. Barbara Leroy says:

    What a moving poem. I’m sure dearest Moraig, you will have a lovely cottage very soon. Thinking of you xxx

    Like

  3. Tony Henfrey says:

    There was a young lass from Normandy

    Who thought that she and her dear one were handy

    So now our lass must confess

    That they turned the place into a mess

    But at last the floor is not sandy

    Like

  4. Deblet says:

    Great poem.Cottage is looking cute,love the fire place going to be nice and cosy

    Like

  5. Well done
    Understand every sentiment there! I am a bit on the “moody and black” side today

    Like

Leave a Reply

